Microwave Ladies Finger Fry

IMG_4402My hubby loves ladies finger, even If I cook It daily he will be happy. For me more than cooking ladies finger pre work is the one which demands a lot of time – Washing and patting well with a dry cloth or dry in a paper towel for a longtime. These days with my little one running around my legs I find it difficult to do the steps my mother usually does to avoid mushy ladies finger. As I mentioned in my Bhindi Masala, microwave helps me to skip those steps. One  day when I had microwaved ladies finger, I thought of giving a try with cooking the entire curry in microwave and it worked.

Ingredients:

Chopped Ladies Finger – 2 cups

Sambar powder/ chilli powder – 1 tsp  ( I used Sambar powder)

Coriander Powder – 1/4 tsp

Cumin powder – 1/8 tsp

Rice flour – 1/8 tsp

Asofetida – generous pinch

Curd – 1/2 tsp

Salt – to taste

Oil – 1/2 tbsp

IMG_4395

Method:

  • In a small bowl combine sambar powder, coriander powder, cumin powder, rice flour, asofetida and salt
  • Cut the washed ladies finger into small pieces and place them in a paper towel. In a bowl add oil and ladies finger; mix well

ladiefingerfry

  • Microwave them for 3 minutes, take out and add curd. mix well. Microwave for another 3 – 4 minutes till the mushy texture changes
  • Add the spice powder mix and combine well

ladiefingerfry1

  • Microwave for 6 – 8 minutes or till the bhindi cooks well with spice powders flavors well incorporated. Serve it with rice/roti

IMG_4406

My Notes:

  • Can do tempering separately and add it to the curry but I skipped it
  • Curd is optional. Add it of you thinks Okra is very sticky than usual
  • Can bake ladies finger instead of using microwave method. Bake it for 375 degree Fahrenheit 20 to 25 minutes if its cut like this. If  cut pieces are lengthy baking time changes
  • Can add coconut for extra taste during the last minute
  • Can cut ladies finger into big pieces, slit and stuff the spice powder
  • Can add garam masala, chat masala or any other spice powder of choice
Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

44 thoughts on “Microwave Ladies Finger Fry

  1. Sundari April 28, 2015 at 3:58 AM Reply

    Okra is a family fav!! Love the microwave version!!

  2. Lakshmi April 26, 2015 at 8:07 PM Reply

    Seems so easy to do in microwave! Does it work the same way if I cut it a little bigger, like about 1/3 of our finger? Or may be should keep it for a little longer?

  3. apsara April 26, 2015 at 6:14 PM Reply

    Wow, so quick and easy! I love okra.:-)

  4. Love Served Daily April 25, 2015 at 8:01 PM Reply

    Absolutely wow

  5. Amanda | What's Cooking April 25, 2015 at 1:51 PM Reply

    I love okra and had no idea it was called ladies finger too. Great recipe!

  6. farin ahmed April 25, 2015 at 9:56 AM Reply

    Lovely okra and this version is sounds good

  7. Padma April 24, 2015 at 6:13 PM Reply

    My fav vegetable…Seriously vidya you know my taste..this is for me :)…Loved that you made it in a microwave:)

  8. negativethinkerr April 24, 2015 at 10:49 AM Reply

    it seems to be good way to tackle down mushy proble ,i have to try it now ,thnx!

  9. Mullai Madavan April 24, 2015 at 7:12 AM Reply

    Simple delicious okra fry! That microwave comes in very handy at times, neatly made Vidya!

  10. Charanya April 24, 2015 at 6:06 AM Reply

    I love okra ❤

  11. homelyaromas April 24, 2015 at 3:07 AM Reply

    Well explained and a thoughtful notes section !

  12. Chitra Jagadish April 24, 2015 at 3:03 AM Reply

    Ladies finger fry in microwave? That sounds interesting V… looks delish ….

  13. For The Love of Ghee April 23, 2015 at 10:54 PM Reply

    Love the photos. Bhindi is one of my favorite veggies. So yummy! now if I can get my kids to eat it 😉

  14. sarahjmir April 23, 2015 at 9:28 PM Reply

    I would never think to microwave bhindi – what a nice quick way to cook it!

  15. coconutcraze April 23, 2015 at 9:03 PM Reply

    That is a modern twist on cooking Lady’s finger.

  16. Mr. Militant Negro April 23, 2015 at 8:45 PM Reply

    Reblogged this on The Militant Negro™.

  17. Malar April 23, 2015 at 8:27 PM Reply

    Wow!! This looks great and easy to make Vidya!!! I can also have it everyday 😀

  18. Aruna Panangipally April 23, 2015 at 7:07 PM Reply

    Simple and tasty. Nothing better than Bhindi Fry and curd rice.

  19. srividhya April 23, 2015 at 6:54 PM Reply

    Good one. I usually go for conventional oven method.

  20. tinywhitecottage April 23, 2015 at 6:18 PM Reply

    Sounds delicious. I love okra and my mom used to make it all the time. It’s has such an unique flavor and texture. Interesting they turn out so well in the microwave.

  21. apuginthekitchen April 23, 2015 at 6:09 PM Reply

    Thats okra right, are lady fingers the same? My Mother always dredged in cornmeal and fried it. I think thats a real Southern way of enjoying them. Your microwave methodis simple and quick and looks delicious.

    • Traditionally Modern Food April 24, 2015 at 3:33 PM Reply

      Yes Suzanne okra and ladies finger are same. Sorry I should have mentioned in my post.thanku:-)

Leave a Reply

