Aloo Paratha

IMG_8274

My co-sister’s mom is an expert in making Aloo paratha. Whenever I meet aunty, I always ask her to make Aloo paratha for me. There was time when making chappati was my nightmare – Not only during my college days, but even after marriage chappati is my scary take. Thanks to the marriage life, hubby prefers skipping rice for dinner. So I started doing many cracked wheat recipes, oh ya it all started to skip making chappati:-) when something becomes your routine you master (shall I say that, I don’t know, well let me put this way, I can manage it:-) seeing my Naan, avocado paratha and mixed veggies paratha recipes, my sister asks me – really?? U doing all this?????

Coming back to Aloo paratha,  this recipe was in my draft for 6 months. This is my second paratha recipe don’t know why but I always kept postponing to post this. Yesterady I prepared Aloo paratha and while cooking I  decided I am publishing this post today, my mind voice finallly!!!

Aloo Paratha

Preparation time : 10 mins | Standing time : 30 mins – 1 hour | Serves : 2

Ingredients:

Chappati dough:

Whole wheat Flour – 1 cup

Water – as needed for the dough

Oil – 1 tsp

Salt – as needed

Potato Masala:

Potato – 2, medium sized

Peas – 2 tbsp

Turmeric powder – a pinch

Coriander Powder – 1/2 tsp

Cumin Powder – 1/4 tsp

Fennel(Sombu) powder – a pinch

Ginger garlic paste – 1/2 tsp

Red chilli powder – 1/8 tsp

Garam masala powder – 1/4 tsp

Oil – 1 tsp

Salt – as needed

Method:

  • Make a soft dough, as we do for chapathi and keep it covered for 30 minutes to 1 hour
  • Cut the potato into half and boil the potatoes (I microwaved them for 7 minutes). Peel the skin and mash them (You can use a fork to mash)
  • Add 1 tsp of oil to a pan. Add ginger garlic paste and sauté for 30 seconds. Add onions and saute till onions are translusent. Add garam masala, red chilli powder, fennel seed powder, turmeric powder and allow it to cook for a minute. Add mashed potato and peas, and cook  for 2-3 mins. Switch off and keep the stuffing aside. When its cool make small balls
  • IMG_8256Knead the dough and divide into small balls, and  roll it into a small circle. Keep one potato filling

aloo paratha

  •  Seal the edges together. Then gently roll it like regular chapathi (with less pressure). Do the same for the remaining dough and filling.

aloo paratha1

  • Heat a griddle and when it is hot, place the rolled paratha, drizzle some oil. and cook for a minute or so  and flip it over to the other side. Cook till the other side cooks

IMG_8273

My Notes:

  • Can add 1 tbsp of yogurt instead of oil while making dough
  • Instead of keeping the filling and sealing can also make two chappati and put the potato spread, flatten it and seal the edges
32 thoughts on “Aloo Paratha

  1. spiceinthecity February 13, 2015 at 1:41 PM Reply

    One of my favorite foods! Delicious Vidya 🙂

  2. apuginthekitchen February 12, 2015 at 6:03 PM Reply

    I love paratha, those look perfect. I really would love to try making them, I saw that you can add yogurt to the dough that sounds really nice. I would love to take a course in preparing Indian food.

  3. Amanda | What's Cooking February 12, 2015 at 4:45 PM Reply

    I love paratha and always wondered how to make them perfectly. What great flavors you use here. They seem like an easy recipe, but there is a little bit of a magic touch to them! Thanks for sharing!

  4. Loretta February 12, 2015 at 12:08 PM Reply

    Love chapatis and parathas 🙂

    • Traditionally Modern Food February 12, 2015 at 3:33 PM Reply

      Glad you like Indian foods:-)

      • Loretta February 12, 2015 at 5:24 PM

        I was born in Mumbai, my parents hailed from Goa :). I lived in India for 3 years after I was born, then moved to Kenya, England, Canada, and now USA, so yes, I LOVE Indian food. It’s my favorite :). I’ve made chapatis before with yogurt, and I love the way they turned out.

      • Traditionally Modern Food February 12, 2015 at 10:35 PM

        You are from Mumbai, wow thats awesome:-) you have traveled a lot guess you will have interesting idea about various recipe around the world

      • Loretta February 13, 2015 at 8:06 AM

        Well, I was born there, but I hardly remember too much about India as I left when I was 3 years old. But I am sure learning a lot with so many bloggers from India like yourself 🙂

      • Traditionally Modern Food February 13, 2015 at 2:59 PM

        Great to hear it Loretta:-)

  5. srividhya February 12, 2015 at 9:26 AM Reply

    Hey super pa..you have the shape perfectly. you finally posted but I still keep thinking should I post mine or not.. not aloo but paneer n cabbage. 🙂 🙂 waiting for my mind voice 😉

    • Traditionally Modern Food February 12, 2015 at 3:34 PM Reply

      Wow paneer and cabbage that sounds intersting.. Post it Sri, I thought I am the only one like this, glad to know someone like me:-)

  6. My Kitchen Moments February 12, 2015 at 8:46 AM Reply

    My all time favorite in stuffed rotis is aloo paratha… Looking delicious dear 🙂

  7. Francesca Trucco February 12, 2015 at 8:08 AM Reply

    happy you stop postponing it!! It seems a good share to me!! Thanks as usual and have a nice day!

  8. Zoale.com February 12, 2015 at 7:26 AM Reply

    Looks delicious!

  9. linnetmoss February 12, 2015 at 5:51 AM Reply

    These look soooooo good. Aloo Paratha is my favorite, but avocado paratha sounds amazing too.

  10. Chitra Jagadish February 12, 2015 at 3:11 AM Reply

    Wow toothsome parathas. .who says no to aloo parathas- I could finish 1-2-3 in one go

  11. Bikramjit February 12, 2015 at 1:30 AM Reply

    Yessss typical breakfast item..In Punjab. .yummmyyyy

  12. Elaine @ foodbod February 12, 2015 at 1:11 AM Reply

    Love these!!!! Definitely bookmarked 🙂

  13. yummyinsidemytummy February 12, 2015 at 1:01 AM Reply

    It sounds really good! But you’ve mentioned yogurt as a substitute for oil in the dough. But wont the taste change?

    • Traditionally Modern Food February 12, 2015 at 3:37 PM Reply

      Thanks:-) I have tried adding yogurt in the dough and the paratha will be soft and taste great

  14. Malar February 12, 2015 at 12:57 AM Reply

    Lol!! I know chappathi or paratha is not some thing we south Indians are experts at!! Practice makes a man perfect 😉 lovely…

Leave a Reply

