Sugarless Tomato Jam

IMG_0139

Having a sweet tooth, I always prefer to have a little sugar in my plate while having breakfast. Seeing this, my mother in law used to prepare tomato jam exclusively for my breakfast purposes! I became so addictive to that and learnt the recipe from her. But seeing the sugar addition, I was alarmed, and so thought of trying Jam with honey instead of Sugar, like I did for Eggless Dry fruit and nut cake. My friend Lori was my inspiration in cooking with honey. We liked the taste of this jam, and I didn’t find any difference in taste between honey and sugar. This has now become my new way of preparing jam!

Ingredients:

Firm and ripe Tomatoes – 10

Water – 3 tbsp

Honey – 3/4 cup (Adjust according to your sweetness)

Cardamom powder – 1/8 tsp (Optional)

IMG_0140

Method:

  • Add  honey and water to the pan and cook for a minute.

IMG_0121

  • Add the tomato puree to the honey syrup and stir it occasionally, till it thickens

IMG_5801

  • Cook till moisture is completely observed. Tomato and water should not run separately. If the jam is taken in a spoon, it should flow as a paste

IMG_0126

IMG_0134

  • Allow the jam to cool completely.  Store in an airtight container

IMG_0146

 My Notes:

  • Sugar (White/Brown) can also be used instead of honey. Add sugar and water in a pan and cook till sugar melts completely
  • Jam stays good upto a month
  • Can  also boil tomatoes and then blend that
  • Agave nectar can be used instead of honey
Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

69 thoughts on “Sugarless Tomato Jam

  1. Bonnie Eng September 12, 2014 at 12:28 PM Reply

    Love this recipe Vidya! 🙂

  2. smithakal September 12, 2014 at 6:27 AM Reply

    super healthy…..

  3. Liz September 11, 2014 at 10:27 PM Reply

    intriguing. My mother-in-law gave me a jar of tomato butter and I just couldn’t bring myself to try it. (which is unlike me because I’ll try pretty much anything) Your tomato jam looks good, but still trying to wrap my mind around putting it on toast. Am stuck thinking jams need to be made of grapes or berries or whatnot. But it looks tasty!

  4. The Gastronomic Bong September 11, 2014 at 7:33 PM Reply

    Oh yum!! Looks delicious.. i have never tried tomato jam. . I am definitely making this. . Thanks for sharing Vidya! !

  5. MCW on Recipes From Eden September 11, 2014 at 4:38 PM Reply

    I love tomatoes, especially homegrown tomatoes… this looks good!

  6. cpriya78 September 11, 2014 at 10:25 AM Reply

    Looks so good!

  7. sindhoooo September 11, 2014 at 9:50 AM Reply

    Drooling! You are awesome at cooking, Vidya! Hey, recenltly I had met a ‘Moolika Vaidyaru’ in my native who said that honey should never be heated. I don’t know what Ayurvedic doctors tell. It would be a great help if you could help us if you have any information regarding this. Looking forward to your reply. TC! Keep smiling 🙂

    • Traditionally Modern Food September 11, 2014 at 11:09 AM Reply

      Thanku Sindhu:-) thought honey is natural its healthy and browsed many have suggested honey to substitute sugar so I started using honey.
      Thanks for the info will browse and c in ayurvedic perpective

  8. Indian Curry Shack (By Anugya Sudan Oberai) September 10, 2014 at 9:38 PM Reply

    Very interesting recipe! Will give it a try 🙂
    I believe you are following my old blog. Guess my title leads to it. I use http://www.indiancurryshack.com now, you may want to check this one 🙂 Anugya

  9. natasha September 10, 2014 at 12:00 PM Reply

    Tomato jam…different…I love tomato

  10. Chitra Jagadish September 9, 2014 at 5:53 PM Reply

    Wow love tomato jam, during my childhood days after school my dad used to buy toast and tomato jam in restaurant for me most of the time. … I live this combo… thanx for sharing Vidya. ..

  11. HostessAtHeart September 9, 2014 at 4:25 PM Reply

    I love the simple ingredients! Delicious.

  12. Nish Kitchen September 9, 2014 at 4:12 PM Reply

    Love the flavor combo in your recipe. Can’t wait to try it!

  13. Ngan R. September 9, 2014 at 2:16 PM Reply

    Looks yummy!

  14. srividhya September 9, 2014 at 1:10 PM Reply

    Great 🙂

  15. MamaD1xx4xy September 9, 2014 at 12:08 PM Reply

    I love tomato jam. This version looks nice, might have to try it with honey sometime.

  16. Vimitha September 9, 2014 at 11:27 AM Reply

    Thats a yummy jam…

  17. apuginthekitchen September 9, 2014 at 8:41 AM Reply

    I love tomato jam, I don’t add sugar either. Delicious recipe!

    • Traditionally Modern Food September 10, 2014 at 4:54 PM Reply

      Thanks Suzanne:-) do you add any other sugar substitute if do eager to try

      • apuginthekitchen September 10, 2014 at 6:01 PM

        If the tomato is really sour I sometimes will add a little honey. I also like to add balsamic vinegar which is very sweet

      • Traditionally Modern Food September 11, 2014 at 11:11 AM

        Balsamic vinegar oh nice:-) Thanku Suzanne I will try it

  18. Sushma Mallya September 9, 2014 at 8:31 AM Reply

    looks so yum,using honey is a great idea..

  19. cafegarima September 9, 2014 at 8:23 AM Reply

    Tangy yum V!

  20. colemangrady79 September 9, 2014 at 8:13 AM Reply

    Who would have thought of this. Looks good simple too. Great recipe thanks for sharing.

  21. Chef Amy at Remke Markets September 9, 2014 at 5:33 AM Reply

    Vidya this is great, my parents grow tomatoes and always have so many I will have to tell them about this, very easy to make!! 🙂

  22. cookingwithauntjuju.com September 9, 2014 at 5:08 AM Reply

    What an interesting way to use tomatoes – I have never made this. I still have lots of tomatoes on my counter that need to be used up. I was going to freeze them but now I will try some of your jam 🙂

  23. noodlesforthoughts September 9, 2014 at 4:26 AM Reply

    never knew jams were so easy to make… Great! I love tomato chutneys.. will love this for sure

  24. skd September 9, 2014 at 3:25 AM Reply

    Tomato JAM , Wow. Never heard of this. heard of salsas, chutneys, ketchups, sauces, purees, curries, but never heard of tomato jam. thanks for sharing 🙂

  25. kurinji September 9, 2014 at 1:06 AM Reply

    Healthy jam….

  26. luckystaranise September 9, 2014 at 12:07 AM Reply

    Me too I find honey works just as well when making jams – but tomato jam would be something new for me to try, thanks for the recipe 🙂

  27. Jayanthisindhiya September 8, 2014 at 11:55 PM Reply

    Hi,wow tomato jam that too with no sugar.hmm sounds interesting.will definitely try,nice pictures

  28. Lori September 8, 2014 at 11:08 PM Reply

    I am so glad you liked using the honey!! So good for you…yay! I’m so happy to be your inspiration to try it. Wow Vidya, never heard of tomato jam…going to save your recipe!

  29. Malar September 8, 2014 at 11:01 PM Reply

    That looks lovely!! And the sweet tangy taste is absolutely fantastic 😀 I will try it soon 🙂

  30. mihrank September 8, 2014 at 11:00 PM Reply

    Great Post and enjoyable!

Leave a Reply

