Baked Healthy Mixture

IMG_0041

Mixture is my sister’s favorite snack. My sis had a peculiar habit of eating mixture when she was young, She would soak the mixture in water and eat it. Till today I couldn’t figure out the reason;-) As a teatime snack or a side for rice, Mixture is a winner. I couldn’t get the Indian Mixture here, so I started to eat Hunter mix and loved it. I tell myself its kettle roasted, so guilt free snack;-) wanted to avoid eating that and make a healthy homemade alternative. Traditional mixture recipe is bit lengthy, though it tastes yummy. A lazy cook like me wanted to make it quick and simple. I frequently do Puffed Rice Mixtute for teatime snack. Baking fever (that’s how hubby calls my addiction to baking) told me to try mixture with puffed and flattened rice, and with nuts. I have baked Honey Glazed Almonds, but had second thoughts to bake flattened rice. I saw my friend Chitra’s oats poha granola post and confidently tried mixture, and it was a big hit at home. This is a simple and easy mixture. Need to try my luck with some more ingredients next time.

Baked Healthy Mixture:

Preparation Time : 5 mins | Cooking Time : 15 – 20 mins

Recipe Category: Snack

Ingredients:

Puffed Rice / Pori – 1 cup

Thin Flattened Rice/  Poha (White/ Red) – 1 cup (I used white)

Walnuts – 3 tbsp ( cut into big pieces)

Peanuts – 4 tbsp

Almonds – 3 tbsp

Sunflower seeds – 4 tbsp

Turmeric powder – 1/4 tsp

Coriander powder – 1/4 tsp

Chilli Powder – 1/4 tsp (Adjust according to your spice level)

Asafoetida/Hing – a generous pinch

Oil – 1/2 tsp

Salt – as needed

Cooking Spray/ Oil – to grease (I used cooking spray)

IMG_0040

Method

  • Pre-heat the oven to 150 degree Fahrenhait. Line the baking tray with aliminium foil (or any Baking paper) and grease with cooking spray
  • Combine puffed and flattened rice along with nuts and mix well

IMG_0032

  • Add the spice powder (Turmeric, Chilli etc.) and oil to the mixture. Combine everything well

IMG_0034

  • Spread the mixture on a foil and bake in the preheated oven for 15 – 20 mins

IMG_0037

  • Check for the seasoning and add if required. Store in a Airtight container to maintain the freshness

IMG_0045

IMG_0043

My Notes:

  • Can add Fried gram, cashew nut, curry leaves, raisin or any other Nuts of your choice
  • Instead of baking, you can also deep fry flattened rice, and shallow fry puffed rice and nuts. Combine everything together
  • My oven took around 17 minutes but watch out after 15 minutes
  • Can also use thick poha but it takes extra cooking time
  • Can also microwave poha for 2 minutes instead deep frying
Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

54 thoughts on “Baked Healthy Mixture

  1. sarithakumbakkara February 18, 2015 at 7:16 PM Reply

    This snack will surely help me to lose weight in a healthy and delicious way! Gonna try it . Thanks Vidya for this wonderful post.

  2. colemangrady79 September 5, 2014 at 9:42 PM Reply

    This is a great healthy snack protein with the nuts. Filling too. Thanks

  3. marudhuskitchen September 5, 2014 at 9:31 AM Reply

    real healthy food

  4. Preetha September 5, 2014 at 1:48 AM Reply

    just loved… it…. health going for a baked version….. u have such a great collection of recipes..

  5. sindhoooo September 5, 2014 at 1:36 AM Reply

    Super easy recipe! It is tempting me… 🙂 Thank you so much for the recipe 🙂 TC! Keep smiling 🙂

  6. Bonnie Eng September 5, 2014 at 1:09 AM Reply

    What a neat little snack…I want to make this! 🙂

  7. seasidehomeaccents September 4, 2014 at 8:21 PM Reply

    Great idea for a healthy snack!

  8. Rani Vijoo (@ranivijoo) September 4, 2014 at 7:54 PM Reply

    this looks awesome vidya and a perfect healthy snack for all , bookmarked!!!!!

  9. apuginthekitchen September 4, 2014 at 2:36 PM Reply

    I can see how this can be totally addictive. Love this kind of snack.

  10. simplyvegetarian777 September 4, 2014 at 12:36 PM Reply

    Love it! Will try soon :).

  11. Nate Kidd September 4, 2014 at 10:51 AM Reply

    This looks really good. I can imagine how great it tastes baked. Thanks for sharing.

  12. smithakal September 4, 2014 at 5:16 AM Reply

    wow .. this looks yum

  13. Bikramjit September 4, 2014 at 4:31 AM Reply

    I loved it Loved itttttttt perfect for me .. I waste so much money in buying from shops and now I can make it at HOME 🙂

  14. Chitra Jagadish September 4, 2014 at 4:06 AM Reply

    Wow Munchy snack dear…I love savouries and when it comes in a healthy twist why say no….simple superb. …thanx for linking my post and honoured to see your lovely words…

  15. Jayeeta September 4, 2014 at 3:31 AM Reply

    Looks like Haldiram product…….parcel me one packet plzzzzzzzz….. 😀

  16. sherien September 4, 2014 at 3:09 AM Reply

    You have become an expert in preparing baked versions of Indian snacks Vidya…

  17. radhikasethi September 4, 2014 at 1:34 AM Reply

    I love mixture too Vidya and this looks totally delicious! Genius! ☺️

  18. noodlesforthoughts September 4, 2014 at 1:11 AM Reply

    mixtures bring about a nostalgic feeling for sure…Jhaalmuri of calcutta is a beautiful puffed rice/murmure/mudi mixture example… Your version is so healthy.. though i like the deep fried ones 😉

  19. andy1076 September 4, 2014 at 12:27 AM Reply

    yummy and hearty! 🙂

  20. salmadinani September 4, 2014 at 12:20 AM Reply

    That looks delicious. I’m going to pin it to try later.

  21. Malar September 3, 2014 at 11:56 PM Reply

    Looks super cool, my sis is as well the same 😀 I am somehow not attracted to mixture 😛 Baked version is so cool and nice Vidya 🙂

  22. srividhya September 3, 2014 at 11:55 PM Reply

    Yum.. Loved the potallam 🙂

  23. Namrata September 3, 2014 at 11:47 PM Reply

    love that you added nuts. Tasty and healthy indeed.

  24. Amanda Thomas September 3, 2014 at 11:32 PM Reply

    That looks really tasty! I’d need to do the math to figure out how many carbs are in a serving though.

  25. Manu Kalia September 3, 2014 at 11:31 PM Reply

    This is a good source of protein. Amazing healthy snacks! Thank you for the recipe!

Leave a Reply

