Cracked Wheat Savory Cake

IMG_9081

With my Little one going all around the house, I am finding it difficult to prepare breakfast. So I prefer preparing some light breakfast, or some bread like Wheat Oats Banana Bread. Couple of weeks back, I tried Savory Rava Cake and had them for next day breakfast, and we both liked it. Wanted to do it again, and this time I used Cracked Wheat instead of Rava. Remembering cracked wheat idli!!

Cracked Wheat Savory Cake

Preparation Time : 10 min |  Cooking Time : 45  mins – 1 hour | Serves : 3

Recipe Category : Breakfast/snack

Ingredients:

Dry Ingredients:

Cracked Wheat – 1 cup

Peas – 2 tbsp

Corn – 2 tbsp

Carrot – 2 , peeled and grated

Onion – 1, finely chopped

Salt – as needed

Baking soda – 1/2 tsp

Baking powder – 1/2 tsp

Wet Ingredients:

Unsweetened Yogurt/Curd – 1 cup

Water – 3 tbsp

Oil/Butter – 1 tbsp ( I used Olive oil)

Sesame seeds – 1 tbsp (optional)

Cooking Spray / Oil – to grease

IMG_9095

Method

  • Preheat the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Place the parchment paper in baking pan, and grease the baking tray with oil/cooking spray
  • In a bowl, add dry ingredients and mix well, and then add the wet ingredients

cracked wheat savory bread

  • Pour into baking tray and sprinkle sesame seeds

IMG_9030

  • Bake for 35-40 minutes

IMG_9060

My Notes:

  • You can also grind the cracked wheat for this
  • Instead of adding 1 cup of curd, you can also add 1/2 – 3/4 cup of yogurt and add 3/4 – 1/2 cup water accordingly
  • Red chilli powder/green chilli can be added to make it spicy
  • Same proportion works for Semollina/Rava cake as well
Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

61 thoughts on “Cracked Wheat Savory Cake

  1. […] Cracked Wheat Savory Cake […]

  2. […] Cracked wheat savory cake […]

  3. Deena Kakaya August 19, 2014 at 4:44 PM Reply

    Now here is a really lovely idea that is one for all of the family, I think mine will like it for sure x

  4. Patty Nguyen August 17, 2014 at 6:32 PM Reply

    I love the specks of color in this savory cake, Vidya. So pretty. 🙂

  5. deelightfullyveg August 16, 2014 at 1:15 AM Reply

    What a lovely looking cake!

  6. sukhada August 14, 2014 at 4:53 PM Reply

    Hay can you tell me how long it stays I mean shelf life ….

  7. Namrata August 14, 2014 at 7:27 AM Reply

    God! this is a wonder recipe. It would work very well for my daughters lunch box. I made a savoury cake once with wheat flour though, the texture was dry – a big disappointment. Any pointers on that?

  8. spoon me like porridge August 13, 2014 at 11:44 PM Reply

    Thanks for dropping by, as I can see this is one of many really interesting and different recipes. Looks great! x

  9. Pamela @ Brooklyn Farm Girl August 13, 2014 at 5:10 PM Reply

    This has in it all the veggies we’re picking from the garden right now, perfect timing! Major yum!

  10. platedujour August 13, 2014 at 3:38 PM Reply

    That looks like a great idea for breakfast, especially because I’m running out of ideas and need an inspiration 😀

  11. Chitra Jagadish August 13, 2014 at 3:37 PM Reply

    Cracked wheat Savory cake, never even thought of this, great combo, healthy and delicious…..

  12. Liz August 13, 2014 at 9:13 AM Reply

    wow–I could never pull this off for breakfast at my house (can imagine the revolt 😉 ), but I love that you can! Looks delish and I’d bet if I served it as a side dish at an evening meal, my family would at least try it. Love how healthy your dishes are, but still yummy.

    • Traditionally Modern Food August 13, 2014 at 11:19 AM Reply

      Thanks Liz:-) cracked wheat is my Hubby’s fav so I try different recipes with that. Glad that it turned out yummy

  13. Bikramjit August 13, 2014 at 6:29 AM Reply

    pefect for evening tea 🙂

  14. food passion and love August 13, 2014 at 6:21 AM Reply

    Sounds delicious dear!My hugs lil Vishvak 🙂

  15. skd August 13, 2014 at 4:57 AM Reply

    How innovative and healthy Vidya 🙂

  16. kurinji August 13, 2014 at 1:55 AM Reply

    healthy and yummy…..

  17. Poornima August 13, 2014 at 1:26 AM Reply

    Looks amazing.. We love dalia, this is a must try recipe!

  18. Shyamala Jayaraman August 13, 2014 at 12:35 AM Reply

    Tried it! Came out great! I love how healthy this is. This is like baked rava upma, with better texture. I followed most of your recipe except that instead of using cracked wheat I made it multi grain. I used equal amounts of oats,quinoa, cracked wheat and ragi and coarse ground them and added a little ginger and green chilies for the kick :).

  19. cookingwithtoddlers August 12, 2014 at 11:46 PM Reply

    Love that you put veggies in this and serve it for breakfast. I must try this!

  20. Liz August 12, 2014 at 11:28 PM Reply

    The cake looks spectacular!

  21. Deepa August 12, 2014 at 10:58 PM Reply

    Mouthwatering and delicious looking cake

  22. swathiiyer August 12, 2014 at 8:24 PM Reply

    Delicious and easy savory cake Vidya Love it.I will try to make them.

  23. apuginthekitchen August 12, 2014 at 6:38 PM Reply

    Looks and sounds wonderful! Great idea having this around it’s great for a healthful meal or snack.

  24. Charanya August 12, 2014 at 6:04 PM Reply

    Great Idea ❤

  25. Charanya August 12, 2014 at 6:03 PM Reply

    Great Idea 🙂

  26. srividhya August 12, 2014 at 4:45 PM Reply

    Cooking with toddler is always tuf.. baking is great n easy.. yum

  27. HostessAtHeart August 12, 2014 at 4:33 PM Reply

    That is so healthy, and I am sure would fill you up!

  28. apsara August 12, 2014 at 4:30 PM Reply

    super awesome idea!

  29. radhikasethi August 12, 2014 at 4:08 PM Reply

    Looks delicious and healthy Vidya. 🙂

  30. Martina August 12, 2014 at 4:08 PM Reply

    That sounds awesome

  31. Malar August 12, 2014 at 4:03 PM Reply

    I was just thinking of cracked wheat when you posted in FB 🙂 wow, this looks so lovely!!! Yum!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

