Mushroom Peas Masala

Writing a Guest post is always exciting. When Beula from EaterSpot asked me to do a Guest post, I accepted happily. The joy was doubled when she told me it was for celebrating the Indian Independence day!

Few words about EaterSpot, in Beula’s own words:

“I began blogging in March 2010 purely because of boredom. I moved from the US to New Zealand, had a full time job, was newly married but wanted to do more stuff … thus my food blogging journey began. Over on my blog EATERSPOT, I share about recipes that have been part of my family and new recipes as well based on my current cravings or menu planning.

I’ve got non-vegetarian, vegetarian, Indian recipes and recipes from different cuisines, vegan, Gluten Free, Paleo and some kids recipes too :)”

Pls checkout Beula’s blog for my Mushroom Peas Masala

Mushroom Peas Masala

Beula’s Facebook page

Thanks Beula, for hosting me, and joining us in celebrating the Indian Independence Day. JAI HIND.

IMG_8063

Mushroom Peas Masala:

Preparation Time : 10 min | Cooking Time : 25 mins | Serves : 3
Recipe Category: Side dish

IMG_8063

Ingredients:

Button Mushroom – 200 grams

Frozen Peas – 1/2 cup

Onion – 1 big, finely chopped

Tomato – 2

Ginger garlic paste- 1 tsp

Garam Masala powder- 1 tsp

Chilli powder – 1/2 tsp

Coriander powder – 1/2 tsp

Cumin powder – 1/4 tsp

Milk – 1/4 cup

Turmeric powder – 1/8 tsp

Cinnamon Powder – 1/4 tsp

Salt – as needed

To temper:

Oil – 1 tsp

Cardamom – 2 pods

Bay leaf -1

Method:

• Wash the Mushroom well with hot water and keep it soaked in water (As mushroom turns to oxidise, I added a pinch of turmeric powder in water to prevent them changing color)
• Boil onion and tomato in hot water and strain the water. When it comes to room temperature, blend them into fine paste

© TraditionallyModernFood
• Add oil to the pan. Add bay leaf and cardamom after the oil becomes little hot. Add ginger garlic paste and sauté for 30 seconds. Add the blended tomato and onion puree and cook for 2 -3 minutes. Add garam masala, coriander powder, cumin powder, chilli powder, turmeric powder and allow it to cook for 2-3mins
IMG_8930
• Add the mushroom, peas and salt. Saute well for 2-3 minutes

IMG_8060

• Add cinnamon powder and milk and let it cook for 3-5 minutes

IMG_8061IMG_8062

IMG_8079

My Notes:
• I didn’t add water while cooking mushroom, as there was enough moisture, but you can sprinkle little water if required
• Instead of milk, you can add 1/4 cup of curd or 2 tbsp of fresh cream
• If you are using a cinnamon stick, add it while tempering
• This gravy goes well with any variety rice like fried rice/ pulao as well as with naan/rotis
• I boiled the onions and blended them, as it will save time while cooking. Instead, you can also sauté the onions

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

22 thoughts on “Mushroom Peas Masala

  1. […] today we have Beula from The EatersSpot. I know Beula for quiet sometime and my first guest post Mushroom Masala was for Beula’s page.  Beula has a great collection of recipes. I approached her for toddler […]

  2. Liz August 13, 2014 at 2:00 PM Reply

    Omg that plate of food makes me feel hungry straight away! Thanks for making me drool!

  3. mmmarzipan August 13, 2014 at 12:13 PM Reply

    Awesome!!!

  4. Chitra Jagadish August 12, 2014 at 3:11 PM Reply

    Looks yum yum Vidya. …

  5. sherien August 12, 2014 at 4:39 AM Reply

    Over to Beaula’s space for the recipe…

  6. Bikramjit August 12, 2014 at 3:12 AM Reply

    ah ha .. now that is looking goood .. I am not a big fan of mushrooms , actually if i see it i cant eat it .. BUT instead of mushroom I am sure i can add something else 🙂

    thank you for introducing another food blog

  7. food passion and love August 12, 2014 at 3:09 AM Reply

    Wow…nice dear vidya!

  8. Asmithaaa August 12, 2014 at 1:56 AM Reply

    That’s great Vidya, Congrats!!!!!!

  9. mihrank August 12, 2014 at 1:00 AM Reply

    One of my favorites and brings so many important benefits to us!

  10. Malar August 11, 2014 at 11:53 PM Reply

    Cool 🙂

  11. Charanya August 11, 2014 at 11:45 PM Reply

    yum ❤

  12. derekthezenchef August 11, 2014 at 11:45 PM Reply

    Congratulations! It is fun to make new connections like this ^.^

Leave a Reply

