Eggless Dry Fruit and Nut Cake

IMG_8656

After adding walnuts to Wheat and oats banana bread, hubby and I liked the nutty flavour, so thought of trying  a cake with nuts and dry fruit.  I have read that dry fruit and nut cake tastes great when the ingredients are marinated in Alcohol for a day. I wanted to replace alcohol with a fruit juice, and remembered Eggless Mango cake, in which fruit pulp replaced eggs. This time, tried a cake by marinating the ingredients in orange Juice (that’s what I had in the fridge, so used it). I have to thank my dear friend Lori@ creatingbeautyinthekitchen for inspiring me to try a cake without adding sugar. Have used honey and dates syrup instead of sugar. It came out well, no compromises in the sweetness!

Eggless Dry Fruit and Nut Cake

Preparation Time : 10 min | Marination Time : 10 hours | Cooking Time : 40 min

Recipe Category : Dessert/Baking

Ingredients

Whole wheat flour – 1 cup

Baking Powder – 1/2 tsp

Baking Soda – 1/2 tsp

Salt – 1 pinch

Cinnamon powder – 1/2 tsp

Cardamom Powder – 1/2 tsp

Orange juice – 3/4 cup

Mixed Dry Fruits and Nuts – 3/4 cup (I used chopped almonds, walnuts, cashews, cranberries, raisins and apricots)

Honey – 1/3 cup

Dates – 7

Butter – 1/4 cup

Vanilla extract – 1 tsp

IMG_8655

Method

  • Soak dry fruits and nuts in 1/4 cup orange juice overnight

IMG_8641

  • Preheat oven to 350 degree Fahrenheit. Line the cake tin with parchment paper and grease with butter/cooking spray
  • Soak dates in hot water for 10 minutes
  • Blend the dates by adding 2 tbsp of water (adjust if required)
  • In a mixing bowl, add dry ingredients and sieve it (To ensure even mixing). Add soaked dry fruits and nuts mix gently
  • Add honey, dates puree, butter and vanilla and Mix a gently until combined,Do not over mix

eggessnutfruits

  • Pour this batter into the prepared cake tin and bake for about 35 to 40 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the cake comes out clean

IMG_8644

IMG_8647

My notes:

  • Dates Syrup can also be used instead of Dates Puree
  • Use nuts of your chioce
  • Any fruit juice can be used
  • Every oven differs keep an eye after 35 minutes
  • Sugar can be used instead of honey
  • Any fruit juice can be used instead of orange juice
  • All purpose flour can also be used instead of wheat flour
Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

58 thoughts on “Eggless Dry Fruit and Nut Cake

  1. Jueseppi B. December 31, 2014 at 10:49 PM Reply

    Reblogged this on MrMilitantNegro™.

  2. Lakshmi December 7, 2014 at 8:08 PM Reply

    Hi, I am planning to bake this cake tomorrow. Could you please let me know
    – when to add the remaining 1/2 cup of orange juice (i/4 cup to soak the dry fruits)
    – I will be using ready-made soaked dry fruits and how much do I need to add?
    The cake looks yummy and looking forward to your reply.

    • Traditionally Modern Food December 7, 2014 at 10:35 PM Reply

      Hi Lakshmi, glad you liked my recipe. Sorry i missed that in my recipe. I have updated the recipe now. I added remaining 1/2 cup while mixing the batter. I haven’t used ready made dry fruits but dry fruit add flavor and taste so you can use between 1/2 to 3/4 cup. Feel free to write back if you have any doubt happy to gelp

  3. […] addition, I was alarmed, and so thought of trying Jam with honey instead of Sugar, like I did for Eggless Dry fruit and nut cake. My friend Lori was my inspiration in cooking with honey. We liked the taste of this jam, and I […]

  4. Bikramjit August 4, 2014 at 10:59 AM Reply

    ME WANT me want Me wantttttttttttttttttttttttttttttt

  5. deelightfullyveg August 3, 2014 at 9:38 AM Reply

    That looks niceeee!!!

  6. Lily July 31, 2014 at 6:04 PM Reply

    wow, your cake rised beautifully with no eggs and just a little bit of leavening agents, nice job:)

  7. platedujour July 30, 2014 at 1:23 PM Reply

    Oh this cake looks perfect! fantastic shape and it looks so yummy 😀

  8. coconutcraze July 29, 2014 at 10:24 PM Reply

    This cake looks delicious, Vidya. Love the rise and filled with such yummy dry fruits and nut it must taste wonderful!

  9. Shruti July 29, 2014 at 6:02 PM Reply

    Aaaahhh!!! How much I love seeing baked goodies on post… And this one is all-time favorite 🙂 I loved the citrus addition here… Simply superb!!!

  10. swathiiyer July 29, 2014 at 4:31 PM Reply

    Delicious eggless dry fruit and nut cake Love it vidya.

  11. Loretta July 29, 2014 at 3:36 PM Reply

    Yumm, this reminds me of the Christmas fruit cake that I make each year. Love the fact that it is eggless though 🙂

  12. apuginthekitchen July 29, 2014 at 1:54 PM Reply

    The cake is beautiful, I am surprised at how high the cake rose given no eggs and whole wheat flour, It’s gorgeous and I love cake with dried fruit and nuts.

  13. spiceinthecity July 29, 2014 at 11:30 AM Reply

    This cake must taste so good with all those dry fruits & nuts!

  14. Sushma Mallya July 29, 2014 at 10:34 AM Reply

    what a lovely recipe ..I always look out for eggless cake recipe …will def try this 🙂

  15. oceanviewkitchen July 29, 2014 at 10:21 AM Reply

    This looks sooo good! Interesting that you using the orange juice. I have to try this:)

  16. Irene July 29, 2014 at 8:27 AM Reply

    That looks delicious! 🙂

  17. sindhoooo July 29, 2014 at 5:30 AM Reply

    Wow! Looks delicious! You made it look quite easy too… I am a vegetarian and hence, I like the word ‘eggless’ very much!

    Thanks a lot for this recipe Vidya… C! keep smiling 🙂

  18. acasadisimi July 29, 2014 at 5:06 AM Reply

    a delicious dessert! congratulations!

  19. Sophie33 July 29, 2014 at 4:48 AM Reply

    A winning cake ,but could I use less honey or less dates,..It seems toto sweet for me! 😉

  20. food passion and love July 29, 2014 at 4:33 AM Reply

    Perfectly Baked ❤

  21. Martina July 29, 2014 at 3:13 AM Reply

    That sounds lovely

  22. Charanya July 29, 2014 at 2:30 AM Reply

    Looks amazing 🙂

  23. Chitra Jagadish July 29, 2014 at 1:54 AM Reply

    This looks fantabulous Vidya. ….had tried cake with orange juice quite few days ago but just with nuts, using dates sounds great….it looks moist and fluffy tooooo. …just feel like digging it….

    • Traditionally Modern Food July 29, 2014 at 3:28 PM Reply

      Thanks Chitra:-) I am sure your version must have tasted amazing

      • Chitra Jagadish July 29, 2014 at 4:20 PM

        I tried last year during December, am not that good at baking and as you know eggless baking is a challenging task …so its been quite long haven’t tried cakes….looking at yours and other few cakes in fb feel like giving a try……nyways thanx dear….

      • Traditionally Modern Food July 29, 2014 at 4:22 PM

        Chitra you are a innovative Chef. Learning a lot from you. Do try dear I am sure anything from your kitchen is yummy

      • Chitra Jagadish July 29, 2014 at 4:46 PM

        Thanx for such kind words Vidya dear. ….just feel blessed to have you all around and the support from you all is what making me explore so credit goes to you all and my dad god….thanx for everything….its means a lot to me….hope to continue my work with amazing people like yourselves support…

      • Traditionally Modern Food July 29, 2014 at 10:05 PM

        Anytime dear:-)

  24. Priya Shiva July 29, 2014 at 1:27 AM Reply

    wow! looks delicious and I want have a piece now!

  25. Malar July 28, 2014 at 11:24 PM Reply

    I guess I will make this cake for my hubby’s birthday next month, it has turned really nice and fluffy. Though it is wheat flour the cake has raised well!! Bookmarking Vidya 🙂

  26. Liz July 28, 2014 at 11:21 PM Reply

    Lovely nut cake!

  27. cookingwithtoddlers July 28, 2014 at 11:19 PM Reply

    I want this right now! How delicious.

Leave a Reply

