Strawberry Frozen Yogurt

Before trying Frozen Yogurt, whenever I heard of it, I was a bit hesitant to taste. I used to wonder how fruits would taste with yogurt. When  we stayed in hotel once, they served berry yogurt for breakfast. Hubby being a frozen yogurt lover, tasted it, but it was a big no for me. One day I happened to taste frozen yogurt without knowing what it was (Hubby told me it was ice cream). To my surprise I loved it and couldn’t believe the fact that I liked it. Though I was cheated, I was still happy to taste a delicious dessert;) Now a days Yum Yos frozen yogurt is our favorite spot. I have recreated a simple yet tasty version with sour cream.

Image

Strawberry Frozen Yogurt

Ingredients:

Strawberry puree – 1cup

Sour Cream/Hung Curd/yogurt – 1cup (I used Sour cream)

Powdered Sugar – 1/2 cup

Vanilla Extract – 1/4 tsp

Nuts – 1 tbsp chopped, for garnish (I used Almonds and Pistachios)

Method:

  • Puree the strawberry. Add sour cream, sugar and vanilla extract to the blender and blend well

Image

  • Cover and freeze for atleast 4 hours. Then take it out and blend the mixture again until soft. Freeze again for 2 hours. Then break the crystals and blend it again until soft. More beating results in a smoothier and creamier texture
  • Repeat a couple of times until it becomes creamy and soft. For the last time alone, do not freeze it, just refrigerate it for best creamy results. Garnish with chopped nuts.

Image

Image

My Notes:

  • If you are using hung curd, hang the curd for atleast an hour until all the excess water drops out. If your hung curd has water, then the frozen yogurt will have crystals and will not be creamy
  • Adjust sugar according to your taste
  • Lemon juice can be added if you are using hung curd, to make it tangy
  • Instead of strawberry you try frozen yogurt with mango too, or any seasonal fruits
Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

65 thoughts on “Strawberry Frozen Yogurt

  1. Liz June 24, 2014 at 8:46 PM Reply

    The strawberry frozen yoghurt is great for summer!

  2. thegastronomicbong June 24, 2014 at 2:47 AM Reply

    I am very find of frozen yogurt and this strawberry frozen yogurt looks awesome.. 🙂

  3. healthracer June 23, 2014 at 11:03 PM Reply

    Wow, this looks really good! I love frozen yogurt, so I’ll have to try making my own.

  4. Sue Slaght June 23, 2014 at 10:31 PM Reply

    This looks absolutely delicious! I’m quite find of regular yogurt which is very common here but frozen yogurt is a real treat

  5. Tea with Erika June 23, 2014 at 8:43 AM Reply

    It looks so yummy and refreshing! I love frozen yoghurt. I like to think that I’m having healthy ice cream 😛

  6. Jayeeta June 23, 2014 at 2:32 AM Reply

    I always love flavoured yogurt. I will definitely try your recipe……… 🙂

  7. sailaja June 22, 2014 at 11:33 PM Reply
    • Traditionally Modern Food June 22, 2014 at 11:36 PM Reply

      Thanks Sailaja:) Thanks for visiting my blog. You have a awesome blog.. Looking forward for ur future post

  8. lapetitepaniere June 22, 2014 at 11:12 PM Reply

    It looks delicious and I love Strawberry Frozen Yogurt 🙂 Very yummy!

  9. apsara June 22, 2014 at 8:33 PM Reply

    ooh, it looks very yummy!

  10. Cteavin June 22, 2014 at 5:38 PM Reply

    What a fantastic idea! It reminds me of granites. I have strawberries and homemade yogurt. I’m going to try this.

  11. Foodie Adam & Cookie Eve June 22, 2014 at 3:21 PM Reply

    Awesomeee..!! Your choice of recipes are epic

  12. simplyvegetarian777 June 22, 2014 at 3:12 PM Reply

    Vidya, this is so awesome. Lovely clicks too.

  13. acbistro June 22, 2014 at 2:14 PM Reply

    this looks lovely !!! 🙂 i made this first time 2 years back, Since then its on menu whenever strawberries are in season 😀

  14. Pang June 22, 2014 at 1:16 PM Reply

    If it’s ice cream or Frozen Yogurt, I am in. This Strawberry Frozen Yogurt looks yummy, Vidya

  15. Malar June 22, 2014 at 1:05 PM Reply

    wohooooo, yummy!!! so delicious, love this Vidya….

  16. ela hester June 22, 2014 at 11:43 AM Reply

    Lovely, just lovely! I can’t get enough of strawberries…

    ela h.

  17. Elaine @ foodbod June 22, 2014 at 11:16 AM Reply

    I love frozen yogurt, espceialy one you can make yourself and tailor the ingredients 🙂 thank you so much for bringing this to this weeks Fiesta Friday, Vidya xx

  18. skd June 22, 2014 at 10:27 AM Reply

    My story is the same. My hubby is a yogurt lover and I can’t get myself to tasting it😷. My hubby and kids keep thinking of new ideas to cheat me into eating it. If they read this post they will know just what to do 😱

  19. apuginthekitchen June 22, 2014 at 9:51 AM Reply

    Delicious, love frozen yogurt!

  20. Chitra Jagadish June 22, 2014 at 6:18 AM Reply

    Looks yummy Vidya. ..

  21. […] Vidya […]

  22. DetoxMama June 22, 2014 at 4:31 AM Reply

    Wow! I can’t believe how creamy it looks and you did it without an ice cream maker! Look amazing! I will absolutely try your technique.

  23. cafegarima June 22, 2014 at 1:23 AM Reply

    This is lovely Vidhya! We love frozen yogurt and I was looking for a tried and tested recipe. Will try this for sure! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  24. nimmiafzal June 22, 2014 at 12:32 AM Reply

    it looks awesome!!!
    i loved it….
    happy FF

  25. Lori June 21, 2014 at 11:44 PM Reply

    This looks wonderful Vidya! Yummy strawberry taste!

  26. Aruna Panangipally June 21, 2014 at 11:08 PM Reply

    May I have some please?

  27. Gina June 21, 2014 at 10:43 PM Reply

    You’ve made the fiesta with your deliciously simple frozen yogurt.

Leave a Reply

