Cracked Wheat Pongal (Godhumai Rava Pongal)

As I mentioned in Cracked Wheat Pulao, Cracked wheat pongal is a recipe from my Amma’s cookbook. I like to prepare pongal as it doesn’t require much effort. Like Oats pongal, cracked wheat pongal is a healthy breakfast recipe. Image Cracked Wheat Pongal

Preparation Time : 5 mins | Soaking Time : 30 mins | Cooking Time : 25 mins | Serves : 3

Recipe Category: Breakfast

Ingredients:

Cracked Wheat/Samba Rava/Dalia/Bulgar – 1 cup

Split yellow moong dal – 1/2 cup

Ginger – 1 tsp,  chopped

Water – 4 cups

Ghee – 1/2 tsp

Salt – as needed

To temper:

Ghee – 1 tsp

Cumin seeds – 1 tsp

Peppercorns – 1/2 tsp

Fresh curry leaves – 1 spring

Cashew nuts – as needed

Hing – generous pinch

Method:

  • Wash and soak moong dal, set it aside (I soaked in hot water for 30 minutes)
  • Add ghee to the pressure cooker, saute Cracked wheat and soaked moong dal for 2 mins
  • Pressure cook cracked wheat and moong dal, along with chopped ginger and salt in 4 cups of water for 3 whistles. Switch off and Keep it aside

Image

  • Add ghee to the pan, when it is hot add Cumin seeds, peppercorns, curry leaves and hing. Once it splutters, add this seasoning to the cooked pongal and mix well

Image

  • Garnish with some roasted cashew before serving. Serve hot with any chutney/sambar

Image

My Notes: 

  • If you are using fine wheat rava instead of cracked wheat, reduce the water accordingly

Check my other Cracked wheat recipes,

Cracked Wheat and Oats Kozhukattai

Cracked Wheat Pulao

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

18 thoughts on “Cracked Wheat Pongal (Godhumai Rava Pongal)

  1. Terry Robinson September 2, 2014 at 9:31 AM Reply

    Your post is really good to read. Amazing!!
    Thank you for sharing, I will post it on my Tumblr to share to my families?

  2. Esha Gupta September 1, 2014 at 7:51 AM Reply

    I haven’t had it ever, but you have tempted me to try it. 🙂

  3. Karen of MrsLookingGood August 31, 2014 at 10:19 AM Reply

    Have never tried Indian food for breakfast yet. Is cracked wheat pongal a regular breakfast item? Will you see it in Indian restaurants?

    • Traditionally Modern Food September 2, 2014 at 11:11 AM Reply

      Regularly Pongal is prepared with rice and you can see them in all Indian restaurant as a healthy twist I have tried with cracked wheat

  4. Nate Kidd August 31, 2014 at 12:07 AM Reply

    I have not had this before. Very interesting. Thanks for sharing.

  5. […] been a while since I posted (actually, cooked) anything with cracked wheat.  Thought of preparing Cracked Wheat Pongal and soaked moong dal, and then I realized I had only 1/2 cup of cracked wheat. I soaked toor Dal as […]

  6. […] I am just giving the picture, the recipe is the same as hers, you can check it in this link […]

  7. […] Cracked Wheat Pongal […]

  8. Aruna Panangipally June 3, 2014 at 11:55 PM Reply

    Like Malar, I always make Pongal with rice, but regularly eat cracked wheat instead of rice. Time to try a new dish.

  9. Malar June 3, 2014 at 10:50 PM Reply

    I have never had cracked wheat pongal, its looks just like normal pongal , thanks for sharing Vidya, will give it a try 🙂

    • Traditionally Modern Food June 3, 2014 at 10:56 PM Reply

      Yes Malar, I didn’t find much difference between cracked wheat and rice pongal. Do try it:)

      • Malar June 3, 2014 at 11:12 PM

        Sure Vidya 🙂

  10. […] dinner, so at least once a week cracked wheat dish will be in my routine menu. My Amma used to make cracked wheat pongal. Inspired by that, I wanted to do something different instead of the usual upma. I had a few […]

Leave a Reply

