Paal payasam (Rice Kheer)

I start drooling whenever I think about the rice kheer my mom makes. One of my favorite desserts ever since childhood days. Rice kheer was my first choice for the special delicacy that I get on birthdays when I was a kid. I have slightly altered Mom’s recipe.

Image

Paal Payasam (Rice Kheer)r:

Preparation Time : 5 min | Cooking Time : 40 mins | Serves : 3

Recipe Category: Dessert

Ingredients:

Raw Rice – 1/4 cup

Whole Milk – 4 cups

Sugar – 1/2 cup

Cardamom – 2 pods

Condensed Milk – 1/4 cup

Ghee – 2 tsp

Cashew and Pista – as needed, to garnish

Method:

  • Add ghee/butter to the pan, saute rice and cardamom in medium flame for a min. No need to cook till it changes colors. In a mixer grind the rice to a coarse powder (just break the rice)

Image

  •  Add the coarse powdered rice, 3 cups of milk, 1 tsp of ghee and 2 tbsp of water into a pressure cook and cook till you hear 2 whistles

Image

  • Once the pressure is realized, open the cooker, add 1 cups of  boiled milk and cook for 10 minutes. Add sugar and condensed milk. Continue boiling in low flame for another 10 minutes till it becomes slightly thick. Garnish with roasted Cashew and raw pista

Image

My Notes:

  • You can use Basmati Rice instead of Raw Rice
  • Can add Saffron soaked in milk for extra flavour
  • Milk Kheer becames thicker over period of time so keep that in mind when deciding on the consistency while switching off
Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

12 thoughts on “Paal payasam (Rice Kheer)

  1. foodienfitness May 22, 2014 at 12:08 PM Reply

    Yum!! I was gonna make kheer this weekend.. I love the sevai kheer more than the rice one..

  2. apuginthekitchen May 22, 2014 at 10:54 AM Reply

    I’ve never heard of this dish before and I love everything about it. It looks a bowl of sweet comfort. I have to try!

  3. Corina May 22, 2014 at 9:38 AM Reply

    This looks really delicious and creamy and I love the nuts on it too.

  4. coconutcraze May 22, 2014 at 8:52 AM Reply

    I will never say ‘No” to a milk payasam. Looks yum!

  5. chitra May 22, 2014 at 8:43 AM Reply

    Pass me here,looks so yummy

  6. Lail | With A Spin May 21, 2014 at 11:28 PM Reply

    A comfort food!

Leave a Reply

